3rd Annual Early Research and Scholarship Conference

Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 10.16.43 AMThe Graduate Center’s Third Annual Early Research and Scholarship Conference (formerly the Archival Research Conference) features student recipients of one of several different fellowships funded by the Provost’s office: the Knickerbocker Award for Archival Research in American Studies, the Award for Archival Research in African American and African Diaspora Studies, and the Pre-Dissertation Summer Research Awards. Panels moderated by Graduate Center faculty. The conference is free and open to all.

The schedule for the day is below. For detailed panel descriptions, see the full program.


Friday, September 2, 2016
9:00AM – 3:00PM
Graduate Center, CUNY – Concourse Level


Program at a Glance

C205 C203 C201 C197
9:00-9:20 Welcoming Remarks: Duncan Faherty
(English and American Studies; Director, Early Research Initiative)
(Concourse Lobby)
9:20-10:20 Toward a More Just Education
Chair: Stephen Brier (Urban Education) 

Matthew Crisler (Anthropology)
Laura Kaplan (Urban Education), Timothy Griffiths (English), Sakina Laskimi-Morrow (Urban Education)

Black Radicalism: Past, Present, and Future
Chair: David Waldstreicher (History) 

Gordon Barnes (History), Makeba Lavan (English), Maria Quinata (Art History), Krystle Farman (History), Elizabeth Newton (Musicology)

Methods in Motion
Chair: Michelle Fine (Urban Education) 

Sant Mukh Khalsa (Anthropology), Esen Karan (Psychology), Kristen Ramirez (Anthropology), Andrew Greene (Psychology)

Migrations and Figures of (Im)mobility
Chair: Feisal Mohamed (English) 

Isabel Gil-Everaert (Sociology), Maria Stracke (English), Nicholas Micinski (Political Science), Sydnee Wagner (English), Fabio Battista (Comparative Literature)

10:20-10:30 BREAK
10:30-11:30 Trans/Queer Intimacies
Chair: Polly Thistlethwaite (Library) 

Jaime Coan (English), Benjamin Adam (Sociology), Melina Moore (English), Thomas Muzart (French)

Who Leads the Movement?
Chair: Duncan Faherty (English) 

James Andrew Sevitt (Psychology), Jonathan Thayer (History), Bin Ma (Management/Business), Sarah Molinari (Anthropology), Alisa Wade (History)

The Politics of Family, Caregiving, and Reproduction
Chair: Colette Daiute (Psychology) 

Lisa Jahn (Anthropology), Sofia Oviedo (Social Welfare), Peter Yu (Psychology), Abigail Kolker (Sociology), Nicole Zeftel (Comparative Literature)

11:30-12:30 LUNCH
12:30-1:30 Human Rights, Sovereignty, and the Law
Chair: Hester Eisenstein (English) 

Parfait Kouacou (French), Lynne Stillings (Ethnomusicology), Benjamin Hellwege (History), Sumru Atuk (Political Science)

Collectivities in the Making
Chair: Anthony Alessandrini (Middle Eastern Studies) 

Ana Perry (Art History), Cecilia Salvi (Anthropology), Elizabeth Hawley (Art History), Jessie Fredlund (Anthropology), Gillian Sneed (Art History)

What’s Just?: Criminality, Policing and Punishment
Chair: Donald Robotham (Anthropology) 

Sean Kennedy (English), Guarav Jashnani (Psychology), Hollis Kegg (Criminal Justice), Nicholas Pehlman (Political Science)

1:30-1:45 BREAK
1:45-2:45 The Craft(ing) of Transnational Aesthetics
Chair: David Joselit (Art History) 

Cristina Perez Diaz (Classics), Mohamad Prasad (Theatre), Chelsea Haines (Art History), Maria Soledad Marambio (HLBLL), Alex Wermer-Colan (English)

Idioms of Power
Chair: Mark McBeth (English) 

Carolina Chaves-O’Flynn (HLBLL), Amelia Greene (English), Danielle Ronkos (Linguistics), Talia Shalev (English), Michelle Morales (Linguistics)

Home, Displacement, Diaspora
Chair: Gracie Davie (History) 

Alice Walkiewicz (Art History), Deshonay Dozier (Psychology), China Sajadian (Anthropology), Miriam Liebman (History)

(Re)Visions of Cityscapes
Chair: Claire Bishop (Art History) 

Mya Dosch (Art History), Cihan Tekay (Anthropology), Caroline Gillaspie (Art History)

2:45-3:00 Closing Remarks
(Concourse Lobby)

About the Author

Shawn(ta) Smith-Cruz is an Assistant Professor and Head of Reference at the Graduate Center Library.